| 0 comments

Release Review: Lost and Found Sisters: Jill Shalvis

Lost and Found Sisters (Wildstone #1)
Jill Shalvis
Add to Goodreads
Buy Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo | GooglePlay
Release Date June 20, 2017


From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.


This is the first in a new series by Jill Shalvis focused on the small town of Wildstone, California. I am going to try hard not to spoil any of the surprises in the story.

Quinn Weller is an LA girl...she has loving parents, a challenging job, and a good male friend/old flame willing to be more again. But her life is in a rut. She suffered a loss and she basically did not fully recover from her grief. But a visit from someone from Wildstone shocks her when he asks her to come to the town to learn of an inheritance. It makes her think differently about everything, and nothing could prepare her for the changes she would face. 

Mick Hennessey is a successful business owner in San Francisco. But he grew up in Wildstone and still returns to help his mom. He seems to become Quinn's  unofficial Savior. And their sexual tension and chemistry is hard to ignore.

But their lives are complicated. They've both got issues. They both live out of town and are busy with their jobs there. They really are not looking for a relationship. She has been afraid to feel or become attached. And he is worried about getting in too deep with someone that has no clue what they want. Wildstone is just supposed to be temporary and they are both afraid of getting tied down further there. She is not sure what her plans are, but she is torn between her life in LA and the new people in this town. And he is being pulled in different directions as well. 

This shake up of Quinn's life begins to push her out of her comfort zone and to try new things. She is beginning to feel again. And she is trying to decide what to follow...her heart or her head.

Mick is a swoonworthy hero. He is sweet, sexy, funny, patient, and kind. Quinn is strong willed, confused, fearful, and guarded, but she also has a big heart that is aching to give and receive real love. She really has a lot to deal with and none of it is easy. She is totally out of her element and just doing her best to make it all work. And Mick has his own complications in his personal life and business dealings. 

I loved the inhabitants and charm of this town. I became attached to Tilly, Dylan, Lena, Boomer, Greta, Trinee, and Cliff. I enjoyed the small town gossip mill and support system. Even the animals had personality. Of course there were some antagonists and some town drama. But Jill Shalvis really created a setting with memorable and quirky characters that added to the story. And there were some surprises and twists that kept it interesting. This was adelightful, sweet, heartfelt, and emotional story about hope, family, love, and finding a home. I am looking forward to the next book Rainy Day Friends.
I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review. 
Expected June 2018
Jill Shalvis

New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill's bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold and visit her website for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.

0 comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...