| 0 comments

Reviews: A Pound of Flesh: Sophie Jackson

A Pound of Flesh
Sophie Jackson

Add to Goodreads
Buy Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo

Lose your heart to your new bad boy book boyfriend. Wes Carter - sexy, edgy, behind bars, with emotional scars as permanent as the ink on his skin, just waiting to be healed by love...

Fans of Samantha Young, Jodi Ellen Malpas, Jamie McGuire, Katy Evans and Prison Break will find this powerful love story utterly addictive and unforgettable.



Their love is forbidden. But won't be denied... Can true love heal the deepest scars?


For Kat Lane, teaching inmates at a New York prison is her way of upholding the legacy of her beloved father, murdered fifteen years ago. But when new student Wes Carter walks into her classroom, she's shaken by the strength of her attraction to him. Carter is as handsome as he is dangerous, as mysterious as he is quick-witted - and he ensures people keep their distance. Yet vibrant Kat bypasses his defences and challenges him to reveal the real man behind the intimidating reputation. As their emotional barriers crumble, their inescapable but forbidden feelings cannot be ignored. But will Kat's discovery of Carter's role on the night her father died force them apart...or bind their hearts for ever?

A Pound of Flesh is a tale of loyalty, redemption and all-consuming love against the odds, introducing an irresistible bad boy hero... 



Graphics from Sophie Jackson via Eternal Romance Books Facebook pages



This is a student/teacher forbidden romance with a twist.
(Note: she is 25 and he is 27 so there is no age discrepency in this one).

Kat Lane is trying to face her demons and honor a promise to her father by taking a job as a teacher/tutor at Arthur Kill prison. She has scars from her past and believes strongly about giving back, but her choice is not so popular with those that care about her. When she meets inmate Wes Carter, he is pure, bad-boy trouble. He is arrogant, argumentative, rude, angry, and volatile. They immediately clash but Kat takes on the challenge with her own ferocity. And the more time she spends tutoring him, she also begins to see his intelligence and humor.

Thus begins the push and pull of forbidden and confusing feelings. They are two people who should not become involved, but feel a pull towards towards eachother.  It is against fraternization policy and there are many complications, but their bond and trust begins to grow anyway. They both have secrets they have not disclosed. There are multiple people who don't support them or their choices. And they both are damaged and broken in some way with fears, insecurities, and disappointments between them. But they also are both are tethered together by a deep connection which eventually leads to an intense need and passion.

I will admit it took me a while to warm up to Carter. He really could be a jerk and was very temperamental and uncontrolled. But my opinion changed as we saw under his bad-boy protective armor to see a man who craved love, understanding, and support and never really had it. The vulnerable, scared, emotional Carter broke my heart.

Kat was stubborn, fiery, strong and devoted. She really believed in what she was doing and was not judgmental. She was under a lot of pressure from various sources that caused anxiety. But she also had her own anger issues and could get extremely emotional and try to run from her problems. 

Despite their strong personalities and intense feelings they brought out in each other, they also soothed the other with feelings of safety and peace. They could read the other without judgment and see into the other's true heart. Their chemistry was like a strong force and the pull towards each other was obvious, not only physically but emotionally as well. When they were alone in their isolated world it was easy to see who they were and what they could be, but the real world was a constant battle for them.

There are many layers with secrets, twists, surprises, and connections. The story is weaved with events from past and present colliding in various ways to lead to the current situations. The characters had depth, flaws, and understandable motivations. There was underlying suspense and intrigue as some issues were brought to light and had to be dealt with. There were a few issues that I would have liked to see carried through a bit more.

This one had an epilogue and can be read as a stand alone, but there also will be a follow up novella for Carter and Kat called Love and Always. His best friend Max has his own issues and loss and he will be the subject of book two, An Ounce of Hope. Her best friends Ben and Beth, Beth's boyfriend Adam and his brother Austin, Kat's mother, and grandmother as well as their past family dynamics issues all added depth and drama to their story. 

Even though this book took me a bit to connect with and was a bit long and slower paced for me at times, I ended up enjoying it. I really fell for Carter and all of the aspects of his personality. I liked Carter and Kat's chemistry and connection. There was a lot of change, growth, and healing that occurred throughout the pages.  It was an emotional and passionate story of healing, hope, love, redemption, and paying your debts.

I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review.


The student/teacher trope is not normally my thing; however, the moment I read the synopsis for Pound of Flesh, I was intrigued and wicked excited to get my hands on something different. I’d say I sat 50/50 on the uniqueness of this book. Some parts were definitely uncommon and other parts not so much. I liked Pound of Flesh, but I wasn’t as in love with it as I hoped to be. 

The thing is I enjoyed the first half of the book much better than the last half. Mainly due to the spark Kat and Carter threw off during their altercations. I really loved their spitfire personalities in those scenes. Once Cater leaves the prison and Kat starts to tutor him outside of that atmosphere, I felt as though both characters could be lackluster and cheesy at times.

While I thought after prison Carter was a pure sweetheart, I actually missed the cocky Carter. That Carter set my heart racing. The “new” Carter just left me with a comfy feeling, no longer on the edge of my seat waiting to experience more of his intensity. Which is a shame since I totally dig me a good bad boy and Wes Carter had all the right ingredients to make an amazing bad boy gone good, while still holding on to the edginess of his allure.

I liked Kat and often felt bad for her with the crap she had to take from her mother and best friend. They were complete and utter bitches!! Oh my gosh, I could not take any more of their nastiness and judgments thrown Carter’s way. I could understand it at the beginning while Carter was still in prison, but this lasted the entire book and was quite annoying to me. I applauded Kat for not taking their damn crap and putting them both in their place. If it had been me, I would have been dishing out some major smack down.

Here is where my primary issues came in, the author had some great plot ideas when it came to Wes and Kat; however, those ideas never really went anywhere, falling rather flat in execution. I was disappointed with the forbidden/illicit aspect to their relationship and how huge the repercussions would be if they were caught. Jackson totally let this slip to the wayside. By letting this tad bit dangle in the wind, I felt as though it took away from the complete taboo intention. In addition, the story line between Carter and his cousin Austin was also left dangling in the wind. The author could have taken this plot line and run so many amazing places with it, yet it too fell flat in execution. With as much as Austin was an ass, it was surprising to see this man just lay down with his tail between his legs. Totally didn’t fit the personality or character villain Jackson was going for.

Overall, Pound of Flesh was a decently written book that held great potential for becoming something special. Unfortunately, that potential went unrealized due to plot lines that were never followed through.

Thank you, Gallery Books, for the complimentary copy of Pound of Flesh. 

Upcoming:
Love and Always (#1.5)
Continues Carter and Kat's story
August 3, 2015

An Ounce of Hope (#2)
Max and Grace's story
January 5, 2016
Series on Goodreads,Amazon, B&N. iTunes, Kobo

Sophie Jackson
Facebook
/Twitter

Sophie Jackson, a schoolteacher from northwest England, writes fan fiction under the handle Jaxon22. Her first novel was the award-winning A Pound of Flesh.





0 comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...