| 0 comments

Never Seduce a Scot Maya Banks

Add to Goodreads        Buy: Nook/Kindle

Maya Banks, the New York Times bestselling author of erotic romance, romantic suspense, and contemporary romance, has captivated readers with her steamy Scottish historical novels, perfect for fans of Julie Garwood. Never Seduce a Scotfeatures a remarkable woman whose rare gift teaches a gruff Scottish warrior how to listen with his heart.  
Eveline Armstrong is fiercely loved and protected by her powerful clan, but outsiders consider her “touched.” Beautiful, fey, with a level, intent gaze, she doesn’t speak. No one, not even her family, knows that she cannot hear. Content with her life of seclusion, Eveline has taught herself to read lips and allows the outside world to view her as daft. But when an arranged marriage into a rival clan makes Graeme Montgomery her husband, Eveline accepts her dutyunprepared for the delights to come. Graeme is a rugged warrior with a voice so deep and powerful that his new bride can hear it, and hands and kisses so tender and skilled that he stirs her deepest passions.

Graeme is intrigued by the mysterious Eveline, whose silent lips are ripe with temptation and whose bright, intelligent eyes can see into his soul. As intimacy deepens, he learns her secret. But when clan rivalries and dark deeds threaten the wife he has only begun to cherish, the Scottish warrior will move heaven and earth to save the woman who has awakened his heart to the beautiful song of a rare and magical love.
Kim's Rating:
4 out of 5 Stars

Kim's Review:
A great start to Maya Banks new Scottish series!

This was a beautiful story about acceptance, loyalty, and love. 

Two warring clans are given a decree by the King that Eveline Armstrong must marry Graeme Montgomery. This brought about immediate dissention on both sides. The Armstrongs felt they were sending their "special" daughter off to the enemy while the Montgomerys felt that Graeme would be giving up his chance to have heirs. Eveline was considered daft, mad, touched, or defective from a horse accident she had suffered 3 years before. She did not speak and her mind seemed to wander.

No matter his distaste for the union and the circumstances forced upon him by his king, the idea of hurting such a sweet-looking lass made him ill. Whatever was wrong with her was not of her making and she was an innocent pawn in a calculated move the crown.

From the minute they meet, there is a tiny spark of interest. Graeme is intrigued enough by the unusual girl and her fascination with him that the wedding occurs as ordered. Once they reach the Montgomery keep, Graeme's interest in Eveline continues to grow as he is amazed by her tenacity and ability to make her needs known, although he is still troubled by her erratic behavior. Graeme becomes the only one interested enough to actually solve the mystery of Eveline's injury and find ways to communicate effectively with her. 

She called to him on a completely different level. She spoke to the very heart of him. Inspired feelings of protectiveness and fierce possessiveness that he wasn't even sure he liked

She twisted his insides into knots he had no hope of loosening.

"I want this marriage...I...value...this marriage. I value you. I was wrong to think the mindsets that are so deeply rooted could be changed in a matter of days. But I don't want you to give you up, because I'm not giving up. We will make this work and I want you to believe in me if nothing else. Your place is here. With me, at my side. I need you to believe that in your heart, for it is what is in mine."

I loved the characters in this book. Graeme is fair, loyal, caring, protective and open. Eveline is strong, tenacious, sweet, feisty, and loving. I found it refreshing to have a heroine that was not "perfect." Their relationship is supportive, protective, and sweet. And they have good chemistry. Their bond is tested as they face challenges, bigotry, and danger. Their fierce protection of each other is amazing during dire circumstances. 

Their siblings are also wonderful characters. His brothers Bowen and Teague,and her brothers Brodie and Aiden . Graeme's tomboyish sister Rorie has great spunk and becomes Eveline's friend and supporter early on. But shortly Eveline wins the hearts of his brothers too. I look forward to their stories in future installments. 

Bowen is book 2 Highlander Most Wanted expected Spring 2013.

This was such a heartwarming, unique, and unconventional love story. It was well written, flowed seamlessly, and kept me turning pages.

0 comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...