| 1 comments

Release Me: J. Kenner

Add to Goodreads        Buy: Nook/Kindle

For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.
 
He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist.
 
Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.

But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.
Kim's Rating:
4 out of 5 Stars

Kim's Review:
He's going to be compared to Christian and Gideon, but Damien holds his own!

I have read the other series. Erotic books told from the feminine point of view with wealthy, controlling, domineering, sexual men. There are going to be comparisons...can't be avoided...but this book can stand on it's own. The characters set it apart, especially the development of the female lead. 

Nikki Fairchild...
Nikki has issues....big issues that you find out all throughout the book. She is not perfect. She is not comfortable in her own skin. She moved to LA to start over and be someone different and outrun her past. She knows what she wants, but is afraid of revealing too much and being rejected. She hides her pain. But pain has been a big part of her life. 

...she hasn't met the real Nikki Fairchild. She's met social Nikki who, much like Malibu Barbie, comes with a complete set of accessories. In my case, it's not a bikini and convertible. Insetad, I have the Elizabeth Fairchild Guide for Social Gatherings.

I have it all down, every trick, every nuance, And I wear my practice pageant smile like armor against the world. 


Damien Stark...
He is controlling and domineering. He is used to getting what he wants, but not quite as stalkery as some of the men in this genre. He is also not afraid to show emotions. He is accepting of Nikki's flaws and supportive of her needs as well as his own. He treats her well and can be romantic. He has a sense of humor. I could not help but like him. 

He's tall and so handsome that the word is almost an insult. But it's more than that. It's not his looks, it's his presence. He commands the room simply being being in it, and I realize that Evelyn and I aren't the only looking at him. The entire crowd has noticed his arrival he must feel the weight of all those eyes, and yet the attention doesn't faze him at all.

He is Jason and Hercules and Perseus--a figure so strong and beautiful and heroic that the blood of the gods must flow through him., because how else could a being so fine exist in this world?

"No, Damien Stark is just one of those dark quiet types. He's like an iceberg...The deep parts are well hidden and what you do see is hard and a little bit cold. "

..."the guy owns half of the known universe. I hardly think he's be all warm and fuzzy. More like dark and dangerous." 


Their attraction is palpable. The foreplay is long, intense and with some serious anticipation. Their chemistry is explosive. But the sex scenes are tasteful (although it does involve some BDSM) and do not overpower the whole book and make you want to throw cold water on them. 

"He's...intense." Hot. Sexy. Surprising. Disturbing. No, it's not Stark that is disturbing.--it's my reaction to him.

"I am smart Nikki... I'm smart enough to know that you feel it too. This isn't just heat, it's a goddamned conflagration. Not chemistry, but nuclear fission."

"Pleasure? We're going to blow the roof off pleasure."

"Possess. Have. Hold. Enjoy. Control. Dominate, Pick your verb, Ms. Fairchild, I intend to explore so very many of them."


This book was well written and engaging. Their rapport was fun and it was ultimately about the development of a relationship and not just possession or dominance. The supporting characters of her roommate Jamie and her friend Ollie added more depth and humor to the story. This is obviously book one so not everything can be resolved, but I was satisfied where book one ends and there is a lot of potential for book two. Damien's secrets are still unraveling and there is still much to learn about his past and his issues. Nikki and Damien still have more to grow as a couple. I think we will see more about Jamie and Ollie too. 

I am looking forward to seeing their progression in book two Claim Me

"Sorry, But I am afraid you met your match, Mr. Stark"
"I certainly hope so, Miss. Fairchild."


Thanks to netgalley and Random House Publishing for this ARC. 
Release date for this book is Jan. 1, 2013

1 comment:

  1. I have this book for review, and I'm so glad that the guy is not stalkerish. That is one of the qualities I don't like in the dom/sub books, but now I can't wait to read about Damien. Great review, Kim =)

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...