Slide 1

Blog Tour and Giveaway: Bishop's Queen: Cristin Harber

Bishops' Queen (Titan #8)
Cristin Harber
Add to Goodreads
Buy Amazon/B&N/iTunes/Kobo
Expected October 25, 2016

“I can't shake the feeling that somebody's watching me.” 

One second Ella Leighton’s life was normal—the next, not so much. A social media maven who made her living saving sea turtles, the decision to join a reality TV show was a good one for the cause. But for her… the adjustment wasn’t easy.

Her publicist used phrases like online personality. An overnight celebrity. Everyone explained that was why she couldn’t shake the feeling. But none of their excuses could explain the letters. The pictures. And then her stalker crossed the line, triggering the demand for security.

Bishop O'Kane didn't expect to come face-to-face with his ex-girlfriend when Titan sent him on bodyguard duty. The woman he once loved, the same one he walked away from years ago, was now his responsibility. Opposites in every way, they couldn’t be more different, but maybe they had never needed each other more.

With the FBI falling short in their investigation, the Titan team must rally around the woman with millions of followers, protecting her from her own as Bishop and Ella forge a path of second chances and forgiveness, unburying the past in order to survive.

New recruit Bishop O'Kane's first Titan assignment is unexpected. He ends up guarding a social media celebrity from a stalker, and she just happens to be his first love. They have a history, not all of it pleasant, and they are both different people than they used to be.

Their tragic past ties them together and was an impetus for how they went their separate ways and how their lives changed course. She became obsessed with saving the environment, and he escaped to the Army. He has spent years isolated in military assignments and is a no-nonsense, tough alpha. She is an now a social media guru who is very passionate about her causes and beliefs.

Now they are mixed up in  a suspenseful and dangerous situation where Ella is being threatened. And their chemistry and feelings are re-emerging after being apart for fifteen years. They never really had closure and both took on responsibility and guilt for events that transpired.  Past and present collide. Hurts re-open. Feelings that were dormant rise again. Uncontrolled passion explodes. Issues they thought they buried resurface. Longstanding guilt and loss affects them. 

It took me a bit to warm up to this couple, especially Ella. They had their past issues that were heartbreaking and significant, and I was immediately grabbed by the past prologue.  But in present day she is very high strung, impulsive, naive, and vocal. She is afraid, but did not always make good choices. I did like Bishop. He is bossy, caring, and protective, and just wants to to do the right thing. But he is torn between duty, as well as the past and present with El. 

This is a second-chance love story with healing and hope surrounded by threats and danger. It is more about suspense than mystery due to how the book is written in multiple points of view. Bishop is thrust into a situation that he would feel responsible if something happens to her on his watch, and then he would lose her again. And Ella's life is constantly at risk due to her high profile.

Are they soul mates meant to be together or just meant to repeat the same mistakes over again?

This brings the new guys Bishop, Locke, and Jax into the Titan fold. I love getting more cameos from the team and their feisty women. They are family, they have each other's backs, and make each other laugh. I really liked Locke and I hope he will be our next hero. I am not so sure about Jax yet, but I am sure he will grow on me. This series always sucks me in and transports me into this Titan universe full of excitement, suspense, humor, and romance. 

I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review. 

Ella Leighton is facing the growing pains of being an internet sensation: she has picked up a stalker. Her publicist thinks it’s no big deal, but the threats are starting to scare her.

Bishop O’Kane is the new guy on the Titan team. He hasn’t had much time to settle in to Titan yet, and though he isn’t ecstatic about pulling bodyguard duty, he’ll do what needs to be done to prove he can make it as a Titan. But he didn’t expect his charge to be none other than the girl he walked away from so long ago.

It was clear from very early on that the spark still simmers between these two. While their history was heartbreaking (and one of those events that would break couples with far more maturity than they had at the time), I loved watching these two struggle to align their current feelings with the pain of their past.

I struggled knowing who the stalker was the whole time. In books like this, part of the suspense comes from the not knowing and I felt like that was missing, though even knowing who was behind the threats didn’t mean readers know what will happen next.

This was a little different than other Titan books in that the plot is not driven by the events in a mission. Much of the story takes place over the course of Ella’s everyday activities, while Bishop follows closely behind as her personal security. The team is present in the background, but Bishop has been given control of the situation and doesn’t have to check in with anyone except Locke, his relief.

I enjoyed the pacing of this story. The aspects of Ella’s daily routines keep the story moving as readers (and Bishop) wait for the next threat to drop, to see how she will react and what clues the stalker might leave to uncover who is behind the threats. 

This was a nice addition to the Titan series, with cameos by favorite characters. I love watching the entire group interact and there are a couple great examples of those interactions in this story. It was a fast paced, dramatic read with suspense, danger, and a second chance at the one that he walked away from. 
I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Book 1: Winters Heat (Colby Winters) FREE!
Novella 1.5: Sweet Girl (Prequel to Garrison's Creed) FREE! 
Book 2: Garrison's Creed (Cash Garrison)
 Book 3: Westin's Chase (Jared Westin)
Novella 3.1: Gambled (Brock Gamble)
Novella 3.2: Chased (Asher McIntyre)
Book 4: Savage Secrets (Rocco Savage)
Book 5: Hart Attack (Roman Hart)
Book 6: Black Dawn (Parker's story)
Novella 7: Sweet One (More Cash and Nicola )
Novella 7.5: Live Wire 
Book 8: Bishop's Queen (Bishop and Ella)

Spin off Series:  

Delta Series

Book 1: Retribution: (Trace Reeves)
Book 2: Revenge (Javier Almeida)

Only Series: 
(Grayson Ford)

Only For Him
Only For Her

Only For Us
Only Forever
Cristin Harber

Cristin Harber is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling romance author. She writes sexy, steamy romantic suspense and military romance. Readers voted her onto Amazon's Top Picks for Debut Romance Authors in 2013, and her debut Titan series was both a #1 romantic suspense and #1 military romance bestseller.

You can become a Titan Agent for exclusive scenes, details, and more! Visit the official Titan website here!

Text TITAN to 66866 to sign up for exclusive emails!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Release Reviews: Keepsake: Sarina Bowen

Keepsake (True North #3)
Sarina Bowen
Add to Goodreads
Released October 25, 2016
Buy Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo | GooglePlay

There's a first time for everything.

Lark Wainwright used to be fearless. Her life was a series of adventures, each one more exhilarating than the last. But her recent overseas adventure was one too many. Now she’s home and in one piece. Mostly. But her nights are filled with terror.

When her best friend offers her a stay at the orchard in exchange for help at the farmers’ markets, Lark jumps at the chance to spend fall in Vermont. But her nightmares don’t stop. Desperate to keep her fragile state a secret, she relies on the most soft-spoken resident of the Shipley Farm to soothe her when her dreams prove too much.

Zachariah is a survivor, too. It’s been four years since he was tossed aside by the polygamist cult where he grew up. He’s found a peaceful existence on the Shipley’s farm, picking apples and fixing machinery. But getting thrown away by your own people at nineteen leaves a mark on a guy. He doesn’t always know what to make of a world where movie quotes are the primary means of communication. Before hitchhiking to Vermont, he’d never watched TV or spoken on the phone.

Actually, there are a lot of things he’s never done.

Zach and Lark slowly grow to trust one another. One night they become even closer than they’d planned. But Lark may still be too broken to trust anyone. When she pushes Zach away, he will have to prove to himself that he's good for much more than farm labor.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. It doesn’t matter that, as a gay man, I’m not interested in reading about the details of… you know… but Sarina Bowen is one of my favorite romance authors regardless of what pairing is in a given book. Keepsake only solidifies that opinion for me, with its solid storytelling placed within what is perhaps my favorite setting found in any series. And a couple whose emotions fly off the page.

Lark Wainwright was always a fearless adventure junkie until a tragic event during an overseas job posting nearly destroyed her. Although she made it home without physical harm, she’s still haunted in her dreams, so she jumps at the chance for a respite at her old college friend’s family’s orchard. When the nightmares continue, her only real source of comfort comes from the only person there who isn’t a blood relative of the Shipley family. During the four years since Zachariah was thrown out of the cult he was born into, he has been exposed to many experiences the cult didn’t allow, things most grown men in the outside world take for granted. But while the serenity of picking apples and fixing machinery on the farm has helped him get over much of his past, there are still many things he has no knowledge of. That includes dating...and the things that dates often lead to.

Lark has always been an independent soul, so the fact that she hasn’t been able to get over the demons caused her traumatic experience is a tough for her to accept. She came to the farm to escape her parents’ constant concern, so she doesn’t want anyone to find out that the plan isn’t working as well as she had hoped. Zach has had ample time to heal from being dismissed by his family out West, but even so, the scars run deep. No matter how good the Shipleys and his adoptive family have been, he still has trouble with feelings that one day he will again be thrown out like yesterday’s trash, and concerns about his future weigh heavily on him. This vulnerability along with his big heart and caring disposition make him a truly swoon-worthy man—of course, he’s quite the physical specimen as well, so that doesn’t hurt any.

This story, then, is about two damaged souls coming together. One of the things that grabbed me the most in the story was the first sex scene. Wait, I know what you’re thinking: that Jay guy is, well, a guy, so of course it’s all about the sex scenes, gay or not. I’m going to pretend you didn’t think that, because the scene is more than just sex. Granted, this is only the sixth M/F romance I’ve read, so maybe they’re like this more often than M/M first-sex scenes are. Maybe it’s the fact that these two just meshed so well together, their needs complimenting each other so well. Then again, maybe it’s because it was Zach’s first time with anyone. Whatever it was, this scene was so much more intimate than I was expecting it to be. It just felt special. Makes me wish my own first time had been more like that. Yeah, I’m a sap. Get over it. 

Besides the pairing, there’s so much more to love about this book. As always, the author’s storytelling is divine. I’m pretty sure she could tell a story about a potted plant and make it a page-turner. In this case, though, the dramatic elements of the plot are much more serious than that. In fact, dealing with Lark’s PTSD could quite easily have been a heavy weight dragging the story down, but the author didn’t force the story to go down that path. The characters are not just lovable, they’re likable too, even though at one point I wanted to scream at Lark over the stupid stunt she pulls.

But more than the story or the main characters, I think my favorite part of the book—of the whole series really—is its satisfying sense of place. In my experience, it’s quite rare for a romance series to have such a lush setting and such a wonderful cast of secondary characters that I find myself craving the interaction with them just as much as with the main characters. It’s easy to tell the author loves living in Vermont. She should be careful, though, because if she keeps painting such wonderful scenes of life there, the state’s population might experience an unwanted surge. As much as I love her hockey romances though, I truly believe she could write many more books within this setting without them feeling old. And there are plenty of ways the series could continue with characters we’ve already been introduced to—Zara continues to scream for her story to be told—but her treatment of Zach’s past hints that perhaps she has more in store for us about others who have left the cult he grew up in. There’s even one character in the books that might lead to a whole different type of story—I’m not going to spoil it, but you’ll know it when you get there, and I dare you not to say “oh shit, didn’t see that coming” when it happens. *grin*

If I’m counting correctly, Keepsake is the eighth of Sarina Bowen’s books I’ve read. I’m convinced that as long as she keeps writing, I’m going to continue to be a fan. Her stories exemplify good storytelling and good romance. I can’t wait to see where she’s going to go next.

The author generously provided me a complimentary copy of Keepsake in exchange for this fair and honest review.

Zachariah and Lark both escaped to the Shipley Farm for their own reasons. Zach is still learning more about life in the real world after a very sheltered, unconventional upbringing left him with no support and abandonment issues. Lark is trying to get over an event that changed her. She used to be the fearless wild child but is now struggling with fear and nightmares from her adventure-gone-wrong.

The Shipley Farm is a place to find support, acceptance, love, and healing. The family takes in strays and helps give them purpose. Zach and Lark grow closer through shared work, understanding, and revealing of secrets. She's supposed to be off limits. They come from different worlds and circumstances. Zach is really inexperienced in relationships, while she is dealing with some fall out of her last one. The farm is their temporary sanctuary, but the real world and future looms ahead. They are able to ease each other's loneliness. He wants to slay her demons and keep her. She has to figure out where her life is going and continue to process all that has happened.

Zach is such a sweet, caring, and thoughtful hero. He's got such a big, vulnerable heart, but is also strong, stoic, and a survivor. He listens. He understands. He comforts. He feels deeply. But this is all new to him. He has a hard time trusting and does not always feel settled or good enough.

Lark is really lost and trying to handle all of her issues. She is fearful, guilt-ridden, and does not want to cause problems for those around her. She is broken and at risk to shatter at any time. Zach becomes an anchor. But in relying on him, will she eventually hurt him?

This is the story of two lost souls coming together to find a true home. But there are definite issues and challenges to face. Time is a factor. The path to what they really need and want is not always clear and easy. Internalized feelings can be messy and confusing. Emotional scars can run deep and continue to cause pain.

I enjoyed getting their dual points of view to really understand some of the issues they buried. They were both likable, and not perfect. Their chemistry, connection, and issues were well developed and believable. I really felt for both of them.

I loved getting more with the Shipley clan and their extended family. It really feels like coming home when I open one of these books. It is like Sarina Bowen has invited me to sit at the Shipley Farm table and enjoy the chaos and love that surrounds these characters. This one is not as overtly funny as Bittersweet or as deeply dark and emotional as Steadfast. It falls somewhere in between. It has some humor, romance, emotion, and some harshness in their back stories leaving them with scars. But it focuses on finding hope, faith, self worth, purpose, forgiveness, love, and healing.

This one had me engaged and invested all along. I really enjoyed seeing into Zach's heart and his growth. Lark was a character I could not help but want to overcome her problems. And I just loved them together and wanted them to find their own little pocket of happiness despite the challenges. There were some unexpected surprises in this one that I did not see coming. And she left it open for more books in the series. I am still interested in more from Zara, Kieran, Kyle, Dylan, Daphne, Alec, and May. And of course catching up with the ones already coupled off.

I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review. 

Zach, only 4 years after being kicked out of his childhood home, is determined to show his value in his new home. While his childhood was anything but conventional, not being controlled by the cult-like organization he grew up has been eye opening. Even 4 years later he still has many things he hasn’t experienced or seen. He had worked for everything he has, but is at a crossroads, unsure what his next move will be when the Shipley’s no longer need him on the farm.

Lark is using the farm to get out from under her parents’ scrutiny after a traumatic experience. Nightmares pull her from sleep regularly, keeping her trapped in her memories. She just wants to go back to normal, and hopes the quiet of the farm will help her put the experience behind her. But the nightmares don’t let up and the only thing that quiets them is Zach’s steady presence.

I loved these two. But hurt for them at the same time. Zach has had time to reconcile his very unique childhood and is ready to move on, to find his own family. Lark has a lot of things to deal with following her ordeal though, and though she thought getting out to the farm would be enough to help her move on, she quickly finds that a change of scenery does not fix her problems. And her problems are bigger than either can handle on their own, no matter how hard Lark may want to keep her struggles secret.

Watching Zach try to take care of Lark, to be what she needed, proved just how sweet and caring he is as a man. It didn’t matter what it did to him, he wanted her to feel safe. His own boundaries were tested as he worked to keep Lark from the nightmares that chased her dreams.

The Shipleys are such a great family, and make for fantastically dynamic side characters. Despite twists and turns, they all just go along for the ride -- very little surprises them, very little trips them up. I love the way they welcome Zach and Lark into their home and make them part of the family with little fanfare. Some of my biggest surprises in the story were as a result of the side character’s actions and revelations. It isn’t often that I am truly surprised by a revelation, but I can honestly say I was shocked a couple times in Keepsake.

This was a great return to Shipley farms, and I hate that we have to wait an unknown amount of time for another glimpse at this family and these characters. There are plenty of side stories in the works here that would make for compelling reads and I hope that we get to see what is going on with May, the twins (as they get older), and the cousins as well.

I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Bittersweet (True North #1)
Add to Goodreads
Released June 14, 2016

If you can’t stand the heat, get out of the orchard.

The last person Griffin Shipley expects to find stuck in a ditch on his Vermont country road is his ex-hookup. Five years ago they’d shared a couple of steamy nights together. But that was a lifetime ago.

At twenty-seven, Griff is now the accidental patriarch of his family farm. Even his enormous shoulders feel the strain of supporting his mother, three siblings and a dotty grandfather. He doesn’t have time for the sorority girl who’s shown up expecting to buy his harvest at half price.

Vermont was never in Audrey Kidder’s travel plans. Neither was Griff Shipley. But she needs a second chance with the restaurant conglomerate employing her. Okay—a fifth chance. And no self-righteous lumbersexual farmer will stand in her way.

They’re adversaries. They want entirely different things from life. Too bad their sexual chemistry is as hot as Audrey’s top secret enchilada sauce, and then some.

Steadfast (True North #2)
Add to Goodreads
Released July 12, 2016

She’s the only one who ever loved him—and the only one he can never have.

Jude lost everything one spring day when he crashed his car into an apple tree on the side of the road. A man is dead, and there's no way he can ever right that wrong. He’d steer clear of Colebury, Vermont forever if he could. But an ex-con in recovery for his drug addiction can’t find a job just anywhere.

For Sophie Haines, coming face to face with the man who broke her heart is gut-wrenching. Suddenly, he’s everywhere she turns. It’s hard not to stare at how much he’s changed. The bad boy who used to love her didn’t have big biceps and sun-kissed hair. And he’d never turn up to volunteer in the church kitchen.

She knows it’s foolish to yearn for the man who returned all the heartsick letters she wrote him in prison. But the looks he sends her now speak volumes.

No one wants to see Sophie and Jude back together, least of all Sophie's police chief father. But it's a small town. And forbidden love is a law unto itself.

Sarina Bowen

Sarina Bowen is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary romance and New Adult fiction from the wilds of Vermont.

Her Ivy Years and Brooklyn Bruisers books are hockey romance novels. These two connected series began breaking hearts in 2014 with The Year We Fell Down. See for updates.

With Elle Kennedy, Sarina is the author of the RITA®-award-winning Him, and its sequel, Us.

For lovers of angsty snowboarders, Sarina also writes the Gravity series, featuring snow sports heroes.

Sarina enjoys skiing, coffee products and a nice glass of wine. She lives with her family, six chickens and more ski gear and hockey equipment than seems necessary.

Blog Tour: Marry Me Mad: Katy Regnery

MARRY ME MADThe Rousseaus #2
The Blueberry Lane Series #13)
Katy Regnery
Add to Goodreads
Publication Date: 9.2.16

For as long as Madeleine “Mad” Rousseau can remember, she’s been the “sweet” twin to her sister Jax’s “sassy.” But after an especially painful break-up, Mad decides she’s had enough of being sweet. Children’s librarian during the day, she begins visiting Philly’s seedier nightspots on a quest for adventure and experience.

When Cortlandt “Cort” Ambler, the ex-boyfriend of Mad’s sister, Jax, saves her from disaster on one such evening, an unlikely friendship is born between the rebellious librarian and the moonlighting pianist…and two broken hearts begin a journey toward being whole again.

Madeleine Rousseau's night started out as one of her worst, but turned into magical and life changing one. Her attempt at forgetting pain inflicted by her soon-to-be ex leads her into a bar with a seductive, tatted, piano player who happens to be someone she used to know. Cort Ambler...the boy she grew up with, who she had a crush on, who dated her twin, and broke her heart.

Cort is protective, understanding, and kind to her, but is off limits! She needs to deal with her break up, but more importantly there is the sister code she can't break. Cort has had feelings for Mad since they were teens, but screwed it up by dating her sister and hurting her. She she has always been the girl he compares every woman to. The were a young love story with potential that was never realized due to a cluster of events and missed opportunities.

Now they have intense chemistry and a magnetic pull that can't be denied. He gets her--understands that she projects this prim and proper librarian facade, but underneath she has fire and a bit of a wild side. Most everyone sees her as the sweet, dependable sister and Jax as the sassy, spirited one. He is determined to finally get his chance with Mad, but she is loyal to her sister and is plagued by guilt. She is dealing with life changes, and has trust issues and insecurities. But Cort is adamant that they can make this work and that they are meant to be.

Even as he begins to show her that they could be good together, there are barriers and a time limit. Her worries and issues are not going to just disappear by ignoring them. But Mad is scared to face them and risk hurting her sister. And she still has to deal with her ex as well. But her denial and indecisiveness just keeps hurting her and Cort.

Will Mad find the will to stand up and fight for Cort or are they destined to be kept apart again?

I absolutely adored Cort. He is down-to-Earth, hot, loving, and romantic. His unwavering care and devotion to Mad touched my heart. He looks like a bad boy, but has a heart of gold. Mad is caring and likable, but her fear and indecisiveness frustrated me at times. But this is also Mad's journey of figuring out who she is, who she wants to be, and what she really needs. And there are some secrets that have not been fully revealed. So it is all a process.

This takes place in the same time frame as Jonquils for Jax so there is a bit of overlap in events. We get more with her siblings J.C., Ten, and Jax, as well as Cort's sister, Sloane. I swear that this series and the spin-offs are addicting. One page and I am sucked back into this extended group of family and friends, but it can easily be read as a stand-alone. These stories bring on the feels and the characters have such strong chemistry.  This is a delightful, charming, sexy, and heartwarming second chance love story with just the right amount of tension and drama. 

I am looking forward to more in this extended series with more of the families and also the last one in this sub-series, J.C. Rousseau in J.C. and the Bijoux Jolis.

I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review. 

Madeline “Mad” Rousseau’s not having a good night, and the dive bar she finds seems as good a place as any to drown her sorrows. Running into her former neighbor and childhood crush was not what she expected when she heard the French music from the street. But it doesn’t matter how nice Cort makes her feel, he is absolutely off limits. As her twin sister’s boyfriend in high school, there are lines that cannot be crossed in Mad’s mind. She can never have Cort, or Jax would be heartbroken.

They have an immediate chemistry and Cort is absolutely swoon-y. But Madeline refuses to cross any lines with Cort because of the relationship he had with her sister in high school, and their ugly breakup only makes Mad more determined to keep things from escalating with Cort. These two just get each other. They have so many similarities as they get to know each other as adults. But Cort and Jax in high school continues to to get in the way, despite Cort’s assertions that Jax wouldn’t mind, that Mad really needs to talk to Jax, because there is more to their breakup than Cort is willing to share, secrets he keeps for Jax.

There were times I wished she could have talked with Jax to sort out what Cort was protecting, but at the same time, the tension created because of that secret was a perfect driving force for a lot of the drama in the story. I’m not a big fan of drama caused by miscommunication, but this wasn’t a miscommunication, this was Cort being loyal to a promise he had made, no matter the repercussions.

So much of this story felt dreamy and romantic as they navigated their relationship. The pull between them defied logic, tempted fate. Their shared love of music played a large role in some of my favorite scenes from the book.

Marry Me Mad takes place during the same time period as Jonquils for Jax, and sheds light on what Mad was doing in the background. The side characters are those readers have come to love throughout this extended series with the most input from the Rousseau siblings. It doesn’t take long and I am back in the Blueberry Lane world. All these characters are so unique and their stories are as different as each of them.

This was a sweet, fun return to Blueberry Lane. I love the way I quickly sink back into the world and don’t want to leave with each new book that I read. 

I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review.
She stood on the sidewalk facing him, a sweet smile on her lips.
Cort gestured to his front door with a flick of his chin. “Want to come in?”
“Yes. But we have to talk first.”
“What happened to ‘Take me to bed’?”
She sighed. “Fresh air cleared my head.”
He glanced down at his swollen cock, all but bursting against the zipper of his jeans. “I’m dying a little here, baby.”
Her eyes followed his, dancing with mirth when she looked back up at him. “So I see.”
“I’m not alone either,” he said, dropping his eyes to her nipples, which strained against her thin, billowy blouse.
“No,” she said, her voice slightly lower, her smile giving way to a hotter, more needy look. “You’re not.”
“So let’s talk inside.”
She shook her head no. “Here.”
Cort sighed, hitching her flowered bag a little higher on his shoulder, waiting for her to continue.
“No talking about Jax or Thatcher,” she said. “If you talk about Jax, I won’t be able to stay. I’ll feel too guilty. And if you talk about Thatcher, I’ll feel too angry. Promise?”
“I promise.”
She took a step closer to him. “And this one’s big…No falling in love with each other. We’re just about impossible, you and me, so we can’t—you know—bring that sort of emotion into this. We can enjoy each other, but that’s all, Cort. Promise.”
He flinched as she finished. He could feel the involuntary muscle reaction that narrowed his eyes and told him that it was too late. It was a lifetime too late to tell him not to love her, because he’d loved her for most of his life. Her gentleness, her quiet grace, the peace he’d always found in her presence now combined with the scorching chemistry between them that couldn’t be denied. Over and over again throughout his life, he’d looked for her, tried to find someone like her, but his heart had fixed on hers so long ago, it was all but impossible for him not to love her. The only way he could promise her was to promise not to “fall” this weekend, only because he’d already fallen years before.
“I promise not to fall.”
She smiled at him, though the smile had lost a bit of the lightheartedness it had held minutes earlier. “Do you need any promises from me?”
He nodded, closing the distance between them. “Yeah, I do.”
Her eyes widened, flaring with heat, the black of her pupils obliterating the green of her irises as she pressed her breasts against his chest.
“Promise to leave nothing on the table, Mad. Give me everything you’ve got for twenty-four hours.”
“Except…” Her voice broke. “Except my love. I promise.”
His heart clenched at her omission, and it made him want to push her out of her comfort zone a little. “Promise to touch me everywhere with your hot little mouth.”
“I promise,” she murmured, her throat moving as she swallowed.
His eyes narrowed. “Promise to open your legs so I can slide inside of you as if I’ve been doing it all my life.”
“Cort,” she whimpered, her eyes fluttering closed as she looked down at where her chest heaved into his. “I need you.”


Publication Date: 8.5.16

Did you fall in love with The English Brothers? Were you hot for the Winslows?

Katy Regnery's Blueberry Lane series continues with The Rousseau siblings!

Jacqueline “Jax” Rousseau is vivacious, rich, smart and beautiful…but that doesn’t mean she’s lucky in love: she’s dated doctors, lawyers, actors and politicians who’ve all managed to end up disappointing her. In fact, she’s on a self-imposed hiatus from love when she has an unpleasant run-in with her neighbor’s gorgeous new landscaper, Gardener Thibodeaux. 

Jax is not accustomed to gruff, ill-mannered men that can’t be charmed, but something about Gard intrigues her, and if she can find her way through the armor that surrounds his heart, she also might find a love that won’t let her down.

The Blueberry Lane Series #14)
Publication Date 10.7.16
Pre-Order: iBooks/Kobo
Add to Goodreads

Jean Christian “J.C.” Rousseau’s reputation as a charming flirt has been well-established in Philadelphia, and he’s never had trouble winning a woman’s heart. So, when Libitz Feingold, the best friend of J.C.’s sister-in-law, Kate, comes to Philly to help out during Kate’s final weeks of pregnancy, J.C. is shocked to discover that the prickly New York-based gallery owner and jewelry designer is completely immune to his charm. Recruited to help her set-up a local gallery, it’s not long before he starts to fall for her, but he’s going to have to rely on more than mere flirtation if he wants a shot at winning her heart.


Artist: Paul Siegel
Based on the bestselling series by Katy Regnery

Signed prints, photo prints, mugs and keychains can be purchased at!
Katy Regnery  Website/Facebook/Twitter/Pinterest 

Katy Regnery, award-winning and Amazon bestselling author, started her writing career by enrolling in a short story class in January 2012. One year later, she signed her first contract for a winter romance entitled By Proxy.

Now a hybrid author who publishes both independently and traditionally, Katy claims authorship of the six-book Heart of Montana series, the six-book English Brothers series, and a Kindle Worlds novella entitled "Four Weddings and a Fiasco: The Wedding Date," in addition to the standalone novels, Playing for Love at Deep Haven and Amazon bestseller, The Vixen and the Vet.

The Vixen and the Vet is included in the charity anthology Hometown Heroes: Hotter Ever After, and Katy's novella "Frosted" will appear in the upcoming (Jan '15) anthology, Snowy Days Steamy Nights. Additionally, Katy's short story, "The Long Way Home" appeard in the first RWA anthology (Feb '15), Premiere.

Katy lives in the relative wilds of northern Fairfield County, Connecticut, where her writing room looks out at the woods, and her husband, two young children, and two dogs create just enough cheerful chaos to remind her that the very best love stories begin 

Release Reviews: Interborough: Santino Hassell

Interborough (Five Boroughs #4)
Santino Hassell
Add to Goodreads
Released October 24, 2016
Buy RiptideAmazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo

The Raymond Rodriguez from a few years ago wouldn’t recognize the guy he is today. He’s left his slacker ways far behind him and is now juggling two jobs and school. But the balancing act doesn’t allow much time for the man he loves.

David is doing his best to be supportive, but problems at work and his own insecurity leave him frustrated—in more ways than the obvious—whenever he goes to bed before Raymond gets home. The heat and affection between them is still there, but they barely have the time or energy to enjoy it. And it doesn’t help that Raymond is still hiding David from his colleagues.The stress mounts so high that a vacation in paradise is filled with turmoil instead of harmony, and culminates on their return to the five boroughs with broken promises and heartache. They have to figure out how to stop allowing their differences to overshadow their love. It’s the only way they’ll make it to forever.

*NOTE: This is a continuation of Raymond and David's story who are the subject of  Sunset Park (Five Boroughs, #2)

Graphics from author's Facebook page

Santino Hassell’s Five Boroughs series has been on my radar for quite some time, coming highly recommended from more than one of my M/M book buddies, but it wasn’t until the opportunity arose to review the fourth book in the series, Interborough, that I finally took the time to delve into it. And now I understand why so many people recommended it.

It’s important to note before I begin that this novel is a direct sequel to the second book of the series, Sunset Park, continuing the story of its couple, Raymond and David, so unlike the first three books individually, this story is best if not read as a standalone. While it isn’t as necessary as reading book two, I do recommend the first book in the series, Sutphin Boulevard, as prerequisite reading because both of these characters are introduced and developed there alongside its point-of-view (POV) characters, Michael and Nunzio. In fact, these four characters’ lives are so intertwined, I can’t imagine enjoying Raymond and David’s story as much without first having met them in Michael and Nunzio’s. Note that at the time of writing this review, I have not yet read the third book, First and First, and in skipping it, I did not feel anything was missing from my understanding and enjoyment of Interborough.

One of the biggest complaints I had about reading the first two books was that neither story ended with a happily-ever-after (HEA). In fact, both books barely ended with a happy-for-now! Raymond and David’s story, in particular, felt incomplete because both of these guys had major issues to deal with individually that made it hard to believe they could make it to forever, given the way their lives were at the end of Sunset Park. This story picks up over a year later, and the biggest difference is that Raymond is holding down two jobs, and he’s attending classes at a community college. This is a far cry from the Raymond we met before. He seems to have this adulting thing down now, except that all this leaves precious little time for maintaining his relationship. While David tries to be supportive, this lack of time to enjoy each other only fuels his insecurities and fears about the state of their relationship and the direction it seems to be headed.

I am nearly always apprehensive to read direct sequels, especially those that were not originally part of the author’s plan. While I’m not 100% certain this is the case with Interborough, I’m fairly certain based on comments from the author both within and apart from Sunset Park. The problem I have is something that’s essentially unavoidable in direct sequels: the couple is already established at the start, so there are generally no more “firsts” within the relationship that I love encountering in a romance. So instead, the sequel must focus almost entirely on the unpleasant real-life aspects of a relationship that’s developing but past its initial bloom. It also seems like the intimate scenes in direct sequels are less intense than during the original, which is (again) rather like real life.

While the individual things that made me love Raymond and David in their first book (Raymond particularly) are still evident in Interborough, this book does suffer from the problems I identified above. Instead of the gritty realistic feel found in books one and two, here we get a lot of them bickering and arguing about realistic things. While the author handles this state of difficulty within their relationship in a believable manner, it’s still generally less enjoyable to read about romance-novel couples having to deal with big everyday problems than it is to read about the lust and discovery of love typical to the genre. It didn’t help any that the arguments they had across both of their two books started to feel a bit repetitive by the time things boiled over.

All that being said, of the three books I have read in the series, I have to admit this is my favorite one, and the reason is simple: the ending. Of course I’m not going to go into details about what happens, but suffice it to say that by the end of Interborough, not only does it feel entirely believable that Raymond and David can survive to their own HEA, the author also establishes Michael and Nunzio’s HEA as well. How can you beat a two-for-one?

Prior to reading this series, I had been exposed to Santino Hassell’s collaborations with Megan Erickson, and I’m glad to see that the writing style is just as engaging and clear within these books as it was there. Raymond and David’s two books are both written in the alternating first-person POV, and at no time was I ever confused about whose voice I was reading. The character and plot development are solid, and while the stories he tells may not always be the most comfortable to read, he is a gifted storyteller. And for that reason, I look forward to reading more of his work, both in this series and outside it.

The author generously provided me a complimentary copy of Interborough in exchange for this fair and honest reivew.

This is a continuation of Raymond and David's story who were first introduced as side characters in Sutphin Boulevard and got their own love story in Sunset Park

But now the honeymoon period is over after they have been dating about a year and a half...not because their feelings or attraction has diminished, but because their time together has decreased and real life is getting in their way.

Raymond is no longer a slacker. He is working two jobs and going to school. David's got his own stressers from work. Time is limited, stress is high, and it is taking a toll on each of them and their relationship. And even just everyday couple, household, and role issues also have an impact. Trying to balance each of their needs, work circumstances, and daily lives is challenging and at times disappointing. Their limited alone time seems to end up in the same arguments.

It took me a while to warm up to David in the previous books and I had finally come to like him more. Maybe reading them all back to back made his faults more obvious and irritating, but he really frustrated me in this one. He comes off like such a whiny, insecure, paranoid drama queen. But he does have some good characteristics as well...he is sweet, affectionate, and loving. But he is definitely insecure, needy, and reactive. His coping skills often just make matters worse. It is not that I hated him as a character, but he could be exhausting and frustrating. But I felt for him and could understand his reasoning.

I loved Raymond and felt that he has shown a lot of growth through the series. He really just wants to take care of everything and be responsible now--the total opposite of how he used to be. He is running himself ragged taking on so much and trying to keep it all together, but there is only so much time and energy. He feels guilty and misses their previous easy life too, but is truly one stressed-out man. But he does have anger issues, is hard-headed, does not always effectively listen, and could be dismissive. 

They are volatile in the bedroom due to their chemistry, but their personalities, outlooks, and differences when under pressure cause other hot reactions. Fears, doubts, insecurities, stubbornness, lack of faith and trust, and outside issues begin to break them down and lead to repetitive fights, patterned behavior, misunderstandings, and not fully listening to each other. It is a circle of negativity that becomes increasingly frustrating and angsty. 

They are still a work in progress and this book is the hard part with them trying to work through it. Old friends and family are a part of this one including Michael and Nunzio (and we see some more good stuff with them), Caleb and Oli, and the rest of their quirky group of friends. I am interested to see who will end up in the next two books scheduled for this series since there are some potentials.

This was sexy, angsty, raw, intense, and real life. Couples go through some unpleasant stuff. Life gets messy. Feelings get hurt. There are disappointments and set backs.  People get mad and strike out at those they care about most. But it is how they deal with it and how committed they are that determine if they find a HEA or end up tearing each other apart. 

Santino Hassell does not pull any punches. His characters are complex, flawed, and well developed. He definitely brings on drama and angst. He writes well in an edgy way that pulls you in and immerses you in the story and setting. It is probably the fact that I read all three back to back that just got to be a bit too much for me and some of it got repetitive especially in this one. There are a lot of negative emotions mixed in with some serious steam and pockets of happiness. But I really have grown attached to all of these characters, even when I wanted to throttle them.  I would definitely recommend reading the first two books to truly understand the characters' dynamics, but I did not read book 3, First and First (Caleb and Oliver) before reading this one and it was not an issue. Having an epilogue on this one instead of the somewhat rushed endings of the first two books made me so happy!

Sometimes I feel like an author writing another story about characters that had a HFN ending is not necessary because it is just to throw contrived drama at them, but I think it was important for us to see this progression with Raymond and David. They really did have some growing to do and it was good to see more into their future and  how each character handled changes. So this felt like a necessary step to follow along with them.

I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review. 
Five Boroughs series:

Add to Goodreads

2 more coming in 2017!
Santino Hassell
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
Santino Hassell was raised by a conservative family, but he was anything but traditional. He grew up to be a smart-mouthed, school cutting grunge kid, then a transient twenty-something, and eventually transformed into an unlikely romance author.

Santino writes queer romance that is heavily influenced by the gritty, urban landscape of New York City, his belief that human relationships are complex and flawed, and his own life experiences.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...